3MT Archive

2018 UVA Three Minute Thesis Results

1st Place: Charlie Clark, Department of Chemistry, "Reducing the Backlog of Sexual Assault Samples"

2nd Place: Carlos Noyes, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, "One Extreme Step Towards Energy Sustainability"

3rd Place: Shahzad Khan, Department of Neuroscience, "Finding Common Ground in Brain Diseases: How Alzheimer's and Parkinson's Relate"

Audience Choice: Charlie Clark


Ahmed Alshareef, Department of Bioemedical Engineering
Brynn Cook, Department of Environmental Sciences
Hamed Joodaki, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Katharine Meyer, Department of Education Policy
Jeremy Shaw, Department of Experimental Pathology

2016 UVA Three Minute Thesis Results

We are excited to announce the 2016 UVA Three Minute Thesis Results! Congratulations to all eight finalists who presented their dissertation research in an engaging and easy to understand three-minute format on Wednesday, March 2nd in front of a live audience and a panel of judges. The winners of the 4th Annual UVA Three Minute Thesis Competition are:

1st Place: Diana Dinescu, Department of Psychology, "Are single mothers more depressed? A cross-cultural analysis of mental health and public policy"

Tied for Second Place: Benjamin Huang, Department of Chemical Engineering, "A New Approach to Cooling Hypersonic Vehicles" and Bryson Reynolds, Department of Neuroscience, "1000 Impacts per Season" The Effects of Subconcussion"

Audience Choice: Benjamin Huang


James Ascher, Department of English
Melissa Frost, Department of Spanish, Italian and Portuguese
Trinh Le, Department of Physics
Ali Rohani, Deaprtment of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Sarah Thomas, Department of Psychology

3MT 2016 finalists

UVa 3MT 2016 Finalists (from L to R): Trinh Le, James Ascher, Benjamin Huang, Ali Rohani, Diana Dinescu, Bryson Reynolds, Melissa Frost, Sarah Thomas


Dianna Dinescu's Winning Video: