To highlight and honor the university’s graduate students for their commitment to and excellence in undergraduate instruction, the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost initiated the University-wide Graduate Teaching Awards in 1990.  The awards honor excellence in all forms of teaching conducted by graduate students, whether it occurs in a classroom, a laboratory, or in a studio.  Any currently enrolled graduate student who has served as a GTA, or as instructor of record for at least two semesters, is eligible to be nominated.  All nominees will be recognized for their contributions at an invitation only Graduate Teaching Awards Reception at the Colonnade Club.

Included among the awards currently offered are the following: 

All-University Graduate Teaching Awards

In a typical year, ten to twelve awards of $500 are given to graduate teachers selected from the nominees. These award winners come from departments or programs across Grounds.

Distinguished Teaching Awards

The Distinguished Teaching Award honors the strongest all-around teachers in three broad disciplinary areas:

  • Arts and humanities disciplines, including Architecture
  • Social science disciplines, including Education
  • Science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) disciplines

Each of the three Distinguished Teaching winners will receive a $1,000 honorarium and a certificate in honor of their achievement.


The Frank Finger Graduate Fellowship for Teaching  

Funded by a gift from J. Huston McCollough, II in honor of Frank Finger, Professor Emeritus of Psychology, this $2,000 Fellowship is awarded annually to a graduate teacher in the College of Arts & Sciences, in recognition of stimulating and organized classroom teaching or lab instruction. The awardee will receive a $2,000 honorarium, and a certificate in honor of her/his achievement. 


The Class of 1985 Fellowship for Creative Teaching 

The Class of 1985 Fellowship is offered to the candidate who best demonstrates exceptional creativity in teaching activities.  The awardee will receive a $5,000 honorarium, and a certificate in honor of her/his achievement.


Current and past award winners are as follows: